Sam’s Date

“Sam!!!” I yelled into the phone. “How was it?”

“It was okay…. I haven’t rode in a car in years!”

“Your date was English?”

“Yeah…”

“Oh… How did that go?”

“It went well. Being in the car was fun – I opened the ‘sunroof’ and stuck my head out. It was fun. Then he told me I had to come in because it was illegal.” I can imagine her toying with her hair or studing her nails. “I don’t think I like him, though.”

“Why not, Sam? It sounds like you had fun.”

“I did, but he’s way to good for me. And that mumbling doesn’t help any.” I can see her rolling her eyes. “I got my meal and he kept talking. I couldn’t hear a bit. I had to lean in and ended up getting my hair in my spaghetti.” She sighs. “But, I like him as a person. Just not as a… significant other.”

“Oh, well I’m sorry to hear that.”

“Yeah… but it’s okay.” She sighs. “I don’t think I’ll ever find love again!”

“Sam, I was much older than you when I finally found my Joseph. There’s a man out there for you. Just wait and see.”

“I don’t want to wait! I can’t be patient!”

“Sam, calm down. You’ll find love again. You’re only 18, you know.”

“I know. I’m barely an adult. But all of my Amish peers are getting married or are in serious relationships. I’m in neither.”

“That’s where the waiting part comes in.”

She growls. “I know….”

We hung up and went to bed. She’s so young…

Leave a Reply

