Sam and Jason

So, Sam has been on a few dates with this one guy, the mumbler, Jason. He’s English and not really the marrying type. Sam doesn’t even like him that much, but he’s mostly someone to hang out with. Sam has wanted to end things with Jason after every date she’s been on with him. Not a good sign, but for some reason she hasn’t “broken up” with him yet. So, I asked her about it.

“Pen, I haven’t ended it with him yet, because… I’m starting to like him.” Sam looked distraught.

“That’s wonderful, Sam!”

“Not really, no.”

“Why?”

“He’s English. He’d either have to convert… or I would if this got serious. He pretty much told me that he wouldn’t convert, but then again neither would I. So, I’m stuck. and confused.”

“Oh Sammy… I don’t know what to say. If you really, really like this guy then someone is going to have to compromise. If you don’t want to deal with that than you need to break up with him before he gets feelings for you.”

“I know and I’m going to do that tonight. I just and so sick and tired of always having a broken heart.”

“I think you rushed into dating too soon.”

“I know I did.” She started bursting out into tears. “It was like my Rumspringa days! He pressured me into doing non-amish stuff all the time and I just had flash backs of being my teenage self. It was horrible Penelope! You know how I was.” I just held her and let her cry.

“You need to just take some time and let yourself FULLY heal before you date anyone.”

“I know, I know, I know… I’m so lost right now, Pen. I need you to help me. Just be there for me. Please.”

“I will always be there for you Sam.”

Leave a Reply

